Barcelona Is the Clear Winner in FIFA Awards

  • Reading time:4 mins read
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Barcelona Is the Clear Winner in FIFA Awards

FIFA announced its awards in Zurich on Monday, acknowledging the best players and coaches on the planet. The awards were given to the best persons in Men and Women football for their performances over the year 2010. In the end,
Barcelona was the main club that dominated those awards and it was a clear sign that the club is the best in the world.

This year, the award for the best male player of the year was the special one as it was a combination of two different awards from the past. Previously, France Football used to give its own award, Ballon d’Or, to the best European
player of the year. Also, FIFA had its own award for the World’s best player, i.e. FIFA World Player of the Year. Lionel Messi was the winner of both these awards last time and this year he was one of the three persons shortlisted to win the new version of
this award.

Alongside Lionel Messi, the two other players who got their nominations were Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta. The important thing was that all these players play for the same club Barcelona and have spent their entire life with
this club. These players have grown into the world class footballers and they owe everything to the club. In the past, there are instances when players from the same club were nominated but this is the only occasion when players from the same youth academy
have been declared as the top three players of last year.

The two Spanish players in this trio, Xavi and Iniesta, were involved in Spanish World Cup winning squad. In that World Cup team Barcelona had other players as well, i.e. Carlos Puyol, Gerard Pique, Pedro and Sergio Busquets, who
are also involved with Barcelona’s youth system. Also, David Villa was there but he only started playing for Barcelona after the World Cup was over. These players were crucial in winning the World Cup for Spain and their influence was acknowledged by FIFA
as well.

In the FIFA FIFPro World XI of the Year, six Barcelona players were included for being the best last year. Apart from the top three players, Puyol, Pique and Villa were the ones who were included in the best players’ list. This
was another big moment for the Catalan giants who have blessed football with a lot of quality players in the past year.

Despite winning only the La Liga title and Spanish Super Cup last year, Pep Guardiola was shortlisted in the top three managers of last year. The manager of Barcelona got his nomination because of his proficiency and expertise
in dealing with his players. The Catalans have adopted a rare passing style high-tempo football, which is very difficult to manage. But, Guardiola does it with utmost ease and he maintains his control on the team as well, which is another difficult job, considering
the fact that Barcelona comprises many world-class players.

Vicente Del Bosque was also nominated for being the part of Spanish World Cup winning team. He was not the winner but he went close to winning against Jose Mourinho of Real Madrid. The Barcelona players were useful to Del Bosque’s
plans for the World Cup and he owes much of his success to Catalans giants as well.

This season, Barcelona is once again playing the best football of all the other teams and is probably in their best form since Pep Guardiola took charge of the affairs. Apart from a couple of setbacks early on, including the home
loss to Hercules, Barcelona has been running high with confidence. At the end of this year, there is no doubt that some of these players will again get acknowledged for their performances. However, this time it would be better for Guardiola to backup his repute
with some more success as well.


Leave a Reply