FIH chooses Rani Rampal, Sardara Singh for All Stars teams

  • Reading time:3 mins read
  • Post comments:0 Comments

FIH chooses Rani Rampal, Sardara Singh for All Stars teams

Despite the defeats in the Asiad, the eye-catching performances of Indian players Sardara Singh and Rani Rampal, succeeded to impress International Hockey Federation (FIH).The FIH chose them for All Stars Men and Women squads.

The Men and Women hockey teams of India managed only a bronze medal and fourth position, in the 16th Asiad. However, their brilliant performance was recognized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) and they chose Sardara Singh and Rani
Rampal, as the FIH All Stars Teams for the year 2010. Sardara Singh, the outstanding defender, initiated his career as a striker but later on shifted himself on midfield position, has also captained the Indian national team in the 2008 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup.
Rani Rampal, the sixteen-year-old outstanding striker, was highest goal scorer in the 2010 Women’s World Cup. She eased her way into the Women’s team of FIH All Stars. The two Indian players will be part of the squads, which have world’s best players including
Luciana Aymar (five times player of the year), Teun de Nooijer (three-time player of the year) and captain of Australian Men’s hockey team, Jamie Dwyer ( four-time player of the year). Danny Kerry and Carlos Retegui will coach the Women’s team of FIH All Stars. 
On the other hand, Ric Charlesworth and Markus Weise, will coach the Men’s hockey team.  

The Men’s and Women’s squads of FIH All Stars have been chosen after detailed evaluation and judgments of hockey officials, players, experts, journalists and coaches. The Men’s squad of International hockey All Stars will be comprised of Jamie Dwyer, Eddie
Ockenden and Des Abbott of Australia, Ashley Jackson, James Fair and Barry Middleton of England, Guus Vogels and Teun de Nooijer of Netherlands, Tobias Hauke, Matthias Witthaus, Moritz Fürste and Max Muller of Germany, Rehan Butt of Pakistan, David Alegre
of Spain, Jong Ho Seo of South Korea, Lucas Villa of Argentina, Nick Wilson of New Zealand and Sardara Singh of India.

The Women’s team of FIH All Stars will include Luciana Aymar, Noel Barrionuevo, Soledad Garcia, Carla Rebecchi of Argentina, Kayla Sharland of New Zealand, Fu Baorong and Zhao Yudiao of China, Casey Eastham and Madonna Blyth of Australia, Helen Richardson,
Beth Storry and Crista Cullen of England, Joyce Sombroek, Maartje Paumen and Naomi van As of Netherlands, Rani Rampal of India, Natascha Keller of Germany and Marsha Marescia of South Africa.

Leave a Reply