Muralitharan and Mathews may miss the ICC World Cup 2011 final

  • Reading time:3 mins read
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Muralitharan and Angelo Mathews may miss the ICC World Cup 2011 final

Due to injury concerns, Sri Lankan spinner Muttiah Muralitharan and all-rounder Angelo Mathews are expected to be replaced by the pacer Chaminda Vass and Suraj
Randiv in the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2011 final to be held on 2nd April against India at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Muralitharan, a
dangerous spinner,
has been fighting with his injuries throughout the tournament, including a hamstring injury, a side strain as well as knee and groin problems. Trapped in bundles of injuries, the spinner
was expected to miss the quarter-final encounter against the Black Caps but he managed to serve his team leaving his physical problems aside. Muralitharan had announced his retirement from international cricket after World Cup. If he plays the final then it
will be his last appearance in an international match.

On the other hand, Mathew sustained an injury in his thigh while fielding and on his physician’s suggestion he brought a runner while batting in the quarter-final.
The all-rounder has given a considerable performance for his team, not only as remarkable middle order batsman but also as a back-up pacer. The ongoing tournament is the first mega event of Mathew’s career.

Vaas, who is expected to replace Muralitharan, has been one of Sri Lanka’s fastest left arm pacers and was part of their World Cup winning campaign in 1996.
Vaas, was earlier  included in the World Cup 2011 30-member squad but did not become part of the final squad. The pacer also gave splendid performances in the 2003 edition of the tournament when he claimed a hat-trick against Bangladesh in the first three
balls of the match.

The 37-year-old veteran has not played in an ODI since August 2008. Off-spinner  Randiv has been playing for his side regularly in the limited overs but still
could not reserve his place in the final squad of the mega event.

Sri Lanka, earlier have played four matches in Wankhede Stadium, including the group match of the tournament and have won two. Sri Lankan Lions, who have qualified
for the final after beating New Zealand by five wickets in the semi-final, have reached Mumbai for their final grand clash against their co-hosts, India.




Leave a Reply