Daryl Tuffey Replaces Andy McKay for the first Test against Pakistan

  • Reading time:2 mins read
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Daryl Tuffey Replaces Andy McKay for the first Test against Pakistan

New Zealand Seam bowler Daryl Tuffey has been added to the Test Squad for the first Test against Pakistan. He has replaced the Injured Andy McKay.

Left Arm spinner McKay couldn’t recover from his side strain injury that confirmed the addition of Tuffey in the squad.

New Zealnd medical staff announced that left-armer is not yet get out of pain and need some time to get in to action back.

Left Arme Seamer McKay had already missed out an entire season due to injury. He made his Test début against India in November 2010 at Nagpur. That is his only Test match so far in which he picked only one wicket. His performance has been convincing in one
day internationals in which He has taken 19 wickets in 13 ODIs with the average of 26.94. In context he has been a top wicket taker bowler form the Wellington in the last domestic season that attracted the selectors towards him. He made his first ODI appearance
against Bangladesh in February 2010 at Napier where he got out two batters by giving 40 runs in 8 overs.

On the other hand, Seam Bowler Daryl Tuffey is an experienced count in the New Zealand side. He has played 28 Test matches from the New Zealand. He has picked 77 wickets and in 94 ODIs he got out 109 batsmen. Tuffey also had some fitness issue just because
of that he has been missed out the squad of and on. He made his Test Début back in 2000 against Australia at Hamilton. He played his first ODI against Zimbawe at Harare in 2000.

The tour match Between Pakistani and New Zeland has ended in a draw. The first Test match is starting from 7 January at Hamilton. New Zealand has an edge over Pakistan that they have already won the Twenty20 Series by 2-1. Both the teams are confident to
give tough time to each other.

Here is a New Zealand Squad for the first Test

New Zealand squad: Brent Arnel, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tim McIntosh, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daryl Tuffey, Daniel Vettori (captain), Kane Williamson, Reece Young



Leave a Reply