Robin Uthappa included in Twenty20 squad – Cricket News Update

(0) (0)
Posted By: 

LeBron James

Cricket News
  • Robin Uthappa included in Twenty20 squad – Cricket News Update

Robin Uthappa included in Twenty20 squad – Cricket News Update

England is currently on the tour of India and have already been defeated twice in the One Day International (ODI) series and lacked behind in the series by 2-0. The second ODI was played yesterday in which India have thrashed the visitors by a huge margin once again by eight wickets. However, the tourists still have the chance to win the series with three games left behind.

Besides ODI series England will play the one-off T20 I on 29 October, 2011. The hosts have recalled their right-handed batsman Robin Uthappa for the only T20 game against the Poms in Kolkata. Uthappa last participated in international cricket for India more than three years ago against their traditional rivals Pakistan during the Asia cup 2008 in Pakistan. The 25-year-old batsman used to play for Pune Warriors in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He has been selected in the T20 squad due to his superb performance. Uthappa smashed a fifty in the final of the Board of Control for cricket in Indian (BCCI) Corporate Trophy and whacked a half-century and a 130 plus for India Green during consecutive innings of the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy.

Another explosive right-handed Indian batsman Yousuf Pathan has also made a comeback in the national side for the T20 game. Yousuf, after being dropped from the national side, played for Kolkata Knight Riders in the Champions League T20 event, and had a happy outing with the ball in the Challenger Trophy as he secured four wickets for just 25 runs in a match.

The left-handed elegant batsman Gautam Gambhir will not be available for the shortest format during the Poms’ tour, because he is getting married. Parthive Patel also will not be included in the T20 squad; however, he is currently the member of ODI squad. For the remaining three ODIs, the selectors have decided to go with the same side which played the first two ODIs.

The off-spinner Harbhajan Singh could not make his place in ODIs and T20I, which makes the selection of the squad more exciting for the forthcoming series of West Indies.

ODI squad: MS Dhoni (capt and wk), Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Manoj Tiwary, Varun Aaron, Rahul Sharma, S Aravind.

Twenty20 squad: MS Dhoni (capt and wk), Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yusuf Pathan, Robin Uthappa, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma, S Aravind.