Philippe Gilbert beat Cadel Evans at the Vélo d’Or award

(0) (0)
Posted By: 

Josh Gates

Cycling News
  • Philippe Gilbert beat Cadel Evans at the Vélo d’Or award

Philippe Gilbert beat Cadel Evans at the Vélo d’Or award

Philippe Gilbert’s performance throughout the year was not hidden from any one, as he dominated the UCI individual ranking for 2011. The cyclist managed to secure the Vélo d’Or award for the current season.

The poll was organised by French Velo Magazine and the results proclaimed Philippe Gilbert as the winner.

Gilbert managed to outshine the Tour de France 2011 winner and the UCI Road World Champion 2011 as Cadel Evans and Mark Cavendish secured the second and third positions after the polling finished.

The cyclist was overwhelmed on receiving the award, as he said, “I think I’ve had an exceptional season and I know that you have to go a long way back to find a season of this calibre, but I think it’s too early to assess it, I really need a few years of distance”.  

Swiss cyclist, Fabian Cancellara, won the 2010 edition of the award.

Gilbert scored a total of 698 UCI points in 2011 and dominated the first slot at the UCI ranking. His new teammate, Cadel Evans, is at the second position with 574 points, while Alberto Contador is at third place with 471 UCI points.

The young cycling sensation started his career with Team FDF in 2003 and stayed with the team for six years. He then moved to Omega Pharma-Lotto in 2009 and spent two years with the team. He has been signed by BMC Racing Team for the coming season.

Gilbert will be riding with Cadel Evans under Team BMC for 2012 as it has been decided that Evans will target the Tour de France 2012.

Philippe, on the other hand, is more inclined towards making an impression at the London Olympics 2012.

The 29-year-old is considered as a specialist in classic races but stage races do not suit his area of expertise.

He said, “I’ve never tried to win stage races, it’s something to be explored, but for now, I’m dreaming of one-day races. It’s one or the other, and I don’t want to make that choice yet”.

Peter Sagan of Team Liquigas-Cannondale defeated Team Sky rider, Edvald Boasson Hagen, by one point and secured the best young rider’s award.

Hagen secured second while Matt Goss was declared as the third best young rider of 2011.

Thomas Voeckler won the best French rider award for the second consecutive year as he defeated Gregory Bauge and Pierre Rolland.

Winner of the Vélo d’Or award, Philippe Gilbert’s superb performance throughout the season earned him the victory over his teammate, Cadel Evans.